• iCNS

Stages of Forgiveness: Stage 6

Updated: Mar 3

By Dr. Allen Novian

Stage 6: Develop Genuine Neutrality

Hopefully, in the process of forgiveness, you will come to resolve any negative emotions and thoughts about yourself and the other person or organization. To do so requires that you do not expect or demand any payment or restitution after forgiveness. You must assume that there is no debt to you. Mother Teresa once said, “It is between God and myself, it was never between me and them anyway.” This must be practiced daily. It is easy to slip into anger and resentment if you do not cultivate a practice of neutrality. Depending on the severity of the event, you may choose to not have any further contact with the person, but if you meet them by chance, you want to have a sense of neutrality and a sense of calmness instead of avoidance.

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalImages.net and fotographic1980, published on 25 July 2012 Stock Image - image ID: 10094137

#communication #forgiveness #couplestherapy #couples #griefandloss #marriage #marriageproblems #marriagetherapy #mentalhealth #stress #stressmanagement

About us

Counselors and specialists




Social Media



21015 Market Ridge

Suite 102

San Antonio, TX 78258

Call Us:


  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean

© 2013 by Novian Counseling & Consulting INC.